Glory get rid of players to make way for the new

Perth Glory has wasted no time wielding the axe following the most disappointing season in the club’s history.

Four players, defenders Naum Sekulovski and Brent Griffiths and midfielders Anthony Skorich and Howard Fondyke, have been told by Glory coach Ian Ferguson that their services were no longer required.

They join Michael Baird, Andy Todd, Aleks Vrteski and Andrjia Jukic as players to have left the club in the past two months.

Glory stalwart Jamie Harnwell retired earlier this month after also being told he was not part of Ferguson’s plans for the future while goalkeeper Tando Velaphi has signed with Melbourne Victory for next season.

Ferguson said the squad changes were made in the best interests of the club.

“I’d like to thank these players for their contribution at Perth Glory,” Ferguson said.

“Given the performance of the team this season, changes need to be made.

“We are now in a rebuilding phase and the three signings we have already made for next season are exciting.”

Glory has signed Wellington Phoenix goalkeeper Danny Vukovic, Melbourne Victory defender Evan Berger and Melbourne Heart’s Dean Heffernan for next season.

“All three players have represented Australia at various levels and we will continue to make tough decisions with our squad to turn around an unacceptable season,” Ferguson said.

Glory is in contract talks with Robbie Fowler and the club is also pursuing Gold Coast striker Shane Smeltz and Adelaide United captain Travis Dodd.

by Buford Balony


Join our mailing list to receive the latest news directly in your email inbox.