New F1 race numbers released by FIA

The official 2014 Formula One entry list has been published confirming the new race numbers which drivers have chosen for the forthcoming season and the rest of their F1 careers.

2014 F1 race numbers

The sport’s governing body, the FIA, gave drivers a choice of numbers between 2 and 99 with the #1 reserved for the defending world champion.

The rule change aims to boost the sport’s marketing potential.

Current world champion Sebastian Vettel will opt for #5 should he lose his grip on the title he has held since 2010.

His Red Bull team-mate Daniel Ricciardo has chosen to run number 3.

Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso has opted for #14, the number he carried when he won the World Karting Championship.

While his opposite number, Kimi Raikkonen has chosen #7, the same number he won the Formula One world title with Ferrari back in 2007.

McLaren’s Jenson Button’s choice echoes Raikkonen’s rationale as he will run #22 which he ran in his 2009 world title year.

Meanwhile, Mercedes Lewis Hamilton has decided to chose his old kart racing number of 44.

Full 2014 entry list

Red Bull Racing
#1 Sebastian Vettel (Germany)
#3 Daniel Ricciardo (Australia)

#44 Lewis Hamilton (Great Britain)
#6 Nico Rosberg (Germany)

#14 Fernando Alonso (Spain)
#7 Kimi Raikkonen (Finland)

#8 Romain Grosjean (France)
#13 Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela)

#22 Jenson Button (Great Britain)
#20 Kevin Magnussen (Denmark)

Force India
#27 Nico Hulkenberg (Germany)
#11 Sergio Perez (Mexico)

#99 Adrian Sutil (Germany)
#21 Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico)

Toro Rosso
#25 Jean-Eric Vergne (France)
#26 Daniil Kvyat (Russia)

#19 Felipe Massa (Brazil)
#77 Valtteri Bottas (Finland)

#17 Jules Bianchi (France)
#TBA Max Chilton (Great Britain)

#TBA To be announced (TBA)
#TBA To be announced (TBA)


Join our mailing list to receive the latest news directly in your email inbox.