Australia ready for England in the one day series

Australia has named a 14-man squad for the first one-day match against England on Sunday, with Brad Haddin retaining his place but Cameron White being named vice-captain.

Michael Clarke will captain the team in the absence of the injured Ricky Ponting, while Brett Lee, David Hussey, Doug Bollinger and Shaun Tait were all included.

Speedsters Lee and Tait will vie for a place in the bowling attack with Test paceman Peter Siddle, Mitchell Johnson and Bollinger, while rival spinners Nathan Hauritz and Xavier Doherty were both selected.

Haddin will be the wicket-keeper despite losing his place in Australia’s Twenty20 team to Tim Paine, but the Test vice-captain has lost that role to Twenty20 skipper White.

“We’ve selected a very strong squad of 14 for the first ODI of what promises to be a really fiercely contested series between these two sides,” Australia’s chairman of selectors Andrew Hilditch said.

“The squad is selected for one game only in order for the National Selection Panel to look at certain players before we select the ICC Cricket World Cup squad of fifteen on January 19.

“Our one-day form has been pretty good over the last 12 months and as we build to a fourth successive tilt at the World Cup, these matches against England will not only provide us with a stern challenge but allow players to make cases for inclusion in that World Cup squad.

“We’ve included Nathan Hauritz, who has been a key part of our One-day side for some time now, and Xavier Doherty in this squad, who played well against Sri Lanka at the start of the summer.

“This gives us a chance to look at both of them prior to the World Cup.”

Australian squad for the first ODI against England: Michael Clarke (capt), Cameron White (v-capt), Doug Bollinger, Xavier Doherty, Brad Haddin, Nathan Hauritz, David Hussey, Mike Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Peter Siddle, Steve Smith, Shaun Tait, Shane Watson.

by Terence Johns


Join our mailing list to receive the latest news directly in your email inbox.